Page 5

routeone Issue 702 - 9 August 2017

/editor’s comment route-one.net /routeonemagazine @routeoneteam FOR EDITORIAL: Group Editor /Mel Holley FCILT 01733 405743 mholley@divcom.co.uk Deputy Editor /Tim Deakin 01733 889686 tdeakin@divcom.co.uk Features Editor /Jessamy Chapman 01733 405744 jchapman@divcom.co.uk Journalist /Michaela Peacock 01733 889682 mpeacock@divcom.co.uk Journalist /Jessica Barton 01733 889334 jbarton@divcom.co.uk Trainee Journalist /Beth Hutson 01733 405742 bhutson@divcom.co.uk Associate Editor /Mike Morgan 01733 405742 mmorgan@divcom.co.uk FOR ADVERTISING: Group Sales Manager /Martin Laverton 01733 405735 mlaverton@divcom.co.uk Sales Manager /Daniel Lunn 01733 405734 dlunn@divcom.co.uk Senior Sales Executive /Steven Black 01733 405731 sblack@divcom.co.uk Sales Executive /Jade Cassidy 01733 405740 jcassidy@divcom.co.uk Sales Executive /Hayley Marrison 01733 405733 hmarrison@divcom.co.uk PUBLISHING TEAM: Office Manager /Tracey Harrison Admin Executive /Beverley Lunn adcopy@divcom.co.uk Graphic Designer /Ross Philips Graphic Designer /Phil Robinson © Diversified Business Communications UK Ltd Unit 4, Minerva Business Park Lynch Wood, Peterborough PE2 6FT 01733 405730 | www.divcom.co.uk Please note calls may be recorded. All advertising is undertaken in accordance with the terms and conditions on our website. Total average net circulation: 5,114 (1 Jan – 31 Dec 2016) ISSN 2014-9295 JUSTICE HAS BEEN DONE AT LAST... At last, justice has been done over long-standing abuse of Section 19 and Section 22 permits. It’s happened thanks to a core of commercial operators that convinced the Department of Transport (DfT) to enforce EU Regulation 1071/2009, something that comes not before time. Even so, the DfT has some explaining to do. Why did it take an EC infraction notice and the threat of a judicial review before it embarked on this U-turn? The damage that the DfT’s failure to enforce a Regulation – something that Article 288 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the EU describes as “binding in its entirety and directly applicable in all member states” – has done to commercial businesses faced with cut-price competition for tenders has in some cases been extensive. Will the DfT be held accountable for that? Probably not. But it should be. Where now for community transport operators that rely on Section 19 and Section 22 permits and will shortly lose a big chunk of funding is not clear. They are in limbo until the government clarifies its plans later in the year, and as part of that process the sector requires strong leadership from its representatives. So far, it is not getting that. LEFT: Enforcement of EU Regulation 1071/2009 will begin, ending permit abuse So while it may be good news for O-Licenced operators, spare a thought for users of community transport who are now left wondering whether they will still have a service – any service – come the end of 2017. // The DfT has some explaining to do. Why did it take an EC infraction notice and the threat of a judicial review before it embarked on a U-turn? // Tim Deakin / Deputy Editor 9 AUGUST 2017 ROUTE…ONE.NET / 5


routeone Issue 702 - 9 August 2017
To see the actual publication please follow the link above