Transport Benevolent Fund CIO


TBF updated logo july 2021


The Transport Benevolent Fund (TBF) was founded in 1923 by the predecessors of Transport for London (TfL) to relieve cases of necessity among its members and to meet their needs for convalescence or surgical equipment. The needs of staff today take a very different form, but there is still need, hardship and distress among those who work in the public transport industry (or are retired from it) and TBF is still there to help when things are not going so well.

TBF members all work in the public transport industry, but membership is no longer restricted to those employed by what is now TfL. There are now TBF members in all parts of England, Scotland and Wales, with organisers encouraging those not yet in membership to join.

Members contribute £1 a week to TBF (this has not increased since 1994). All benefits are available not only to the member but also to their partner and dependent children. Where staff have contributed for long enough, they gain free membership in retirement.

There is a wide range of benefits offered by TBF, which include:

TBF Cash Grants
Cash grants

TBF Prescription Prepayment Certificates
Prescription Prepayment Certificates

TBF Therapies

TBF Second Opinions
Second Opinions

Medical Equipment
Medical Equipment

Convalescence and Recuperation

TBF Welfare and debt counselling
Welfare and Debt Counselling

TBF Legal Advice
Legal Advice

TBF Bereavement
Bereavement Grants


Some of the main fund is specially earmarked and you will find more details on the Memorials and Bequests page.

Recognising the work undertaken by TBF, its Patrons include senior executives of most of the major transport groups and the General Secretaries of all the transport trades unions. Here is the full list of our Patrons:

  • Sir Brian Souter – Chairman, Stagecoach Group
  • Sir Peter Hendy CBE – Chair, Network Rail
  • Mike Brown MVO – Commissioner of Transport for London
  • Nigel Stevens – UK Divisional Director, Transdev plc
  • Dean Finch – Group Chief Executive, National Express
  • Matthew Gregory – Chief Executive, First Group
  • David Brown – Group Chief Executive, Go-Ahead Group
  • Ian Luckett – Director, Lucketts Group
  • Iain Jago – Managing Director, UK Bus, Arriva plc
  • Mick Whelan – General Secretary, ASLEF
  • Manuel Cortes – General Secretary, TSSA
  • Paul Plummer – Chief Executive, Rail Delivery Group
  • Len McCluskey – General Secretary, Unite the Union
  • Jaspal Singh – CEO, UK & Ireland, ComfortDelGro
  • Mick Cash – General Secretary, RMT
  • Graham Vidler – Chief Executive, CPT UK

TBF also manages the TfL Staff Welfare Fund, which helps active and retired staff of TfL and its subsidiaries if they suffer hardship.

Contact Information
14 Gower's Walk, Greater London, England E1 8PY
Send an enquiry
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.