Go-Ahead’s Wills and former TfL head Brown join NITHC Board

NITHC non-executive appointments made

Go-Ahead Group’s Ed Wills and former Transport for London (TfL) Commissioner Mike Brown are among five non-executive appointments to the Board of the Northern Ireland Transport Holding Company (NITHC), which oversees Translink operations in the province.

Mr Wills is currently Go-Ahead’s Managing Director for Bus Commercial Development and for almost three years led the group’s operation in Ireland. He will take up the position of Brighton and Hove and Metrobus MD on 1 November.

Prior to becoming Commissioner of TfL, Mr Brown held other senior position within the organisation and with Heathrow Airport. He is currently Chair of the Delivery Authority to manage the restoration and renewal of the Houses of Parliament. He left TfL in June 2020.

The NITHC appointments are effective from 1 October. They have been made by Infrastructure Minister Nichola Mallon. Also joining the NITHC Board are Tsvetelina Bogoina, Marie Mallon and Sharon O’Connor.

Nichola Mallon says that the five incoming Board members will bring “significant value” to NITHC. She adds: “The challenges facing the company are very clear, but so to are the opportunities, and I am committed to working with the new Board to ensure that Translink plays a full role in our COVID recovery; in improving connectivity across the island; and in addressing the climate emergency.”

In June, Translink Chief Executive Chris Conway outlined hopes that the organisation could double its 2019 passenger numbers within five years, helped by an ambitious investment plan. At the same time, he left no doubt that the support of politicians and stakeholders would be vital to achieving that aim.

Standing down from the NITHC Board are Tony Depledge, Bernard Mitchell, Hilary McCartan, Angela Reavey and Mark Sweeney.