Bus Driver of the Year 2022 numbers above 2019 levels

Bus Driver of the Year 2022 field is strong

Organisers of the Bus Driver of the Year (BDoY) competition, which will take place in Blackpool over the weekend of 1-2 October, have revealed that entry numbers for the 2022 national final have exceeded those recorded the previous time it was held in 2019. 

89 entrants from England, Scotland and Wales will compete despite ongoing challenges facing the industry, each bidding to claim the Bus Driver of the Year title. It was most recently won by Lothian’s Adam Stitt in 2019, when 82 contestants took part.

Bus Driver of the Year Association Chair Joe Mackie has welcomed the strong numbers. He notes that the BDOY team is looking forward to welcoming new competitors and previous finalists to this year’s gathering.

“We are very pleased that the competition still commands widespread support from its sponsors and entrant operating companies, with the national final a fantastic place for the drivers’ skills and commitment to excellent customer service to be displayed.” 

The Association has published a comprehensive list of entrants for the 2022 national final, as follows: 

Arriva: Craig Elston, Ron Crichton, Chris Neale, Bennette Okyere  

Blackpool Transport Services: Heath Jones  

First Cymru: Daryl Jones, Glenn Foster, Philip Connor  

First Eastern Counties: Shaun Rodgers, Gareth Hughes  

First Glasgow: Kevin O’Hare, Robert Rydzynski  

First Hampshire, Dorset and Berkshire: Rob Symms, Carl Evans  

First Manchester: Paul Nuttall, Paul Metcalfe, Adam Hodges, David Hodges  

First South Yorkshire and Midlands: Tim Jennings, Tony Lavender, Andrew Potter, Bart Van Puyvelde, Stu Yarrow, Simon Gore, Jon Frith  

First West of England: Andy Evered, Ben Hillier, Stuart Beetison  

First West Yorkshire: Shezad Afzal, Paul Leppington, Michael Leech, Toqeer Zaroof, Chris Rayner  

Go-Ahead London: Stephen Appiah, Barry Thorne, Joseph Jay, Muhammad Harun, Raj Viswanathan, Alessandro Didone  

Go North East: Nick Perry, Anne-Marie Goth Riley  

Go South Coast: Daniel Duffy, Dave Grantins, Vinod Ramachandran, Barry Walker, Mick Paul  

Lothian Buses: Kevin Chalmers, Thomas Gilhooley, Eamon Elrick  

McGills Scotland East: Tamassa Jarra  

National Express West Midlands: Chris Neal, Lee Grantham, Justin Thompson 

Oxford Bus Company: Ricardo McIntosh, Dominik Nahrebecki 

PeoplesBus: Kevin Lewington, Andrew Cawley 

Plymouth Citybus: Kyly Summerfield, Kimberley Rushford 

Preston Bus: Darren Dalton, Matthew Rood  

RATP Dev Transit London: Nimish Jamnadas, Haden Stacy, Kastriot Lika  

Stagecoach Bluebird: Mark Goodall  

Stagecoach Cumbria and North Lancashire: Martin Shaplin, David Hind  

Stagecoach East: Allison Clark  

Stagecoach East Midlands: Shaun Roche  

Stagecoach East Scotland: Brian MacKie, Ian Field  

Stagecoach Highlands: Vicki McCormac  

Stagecoach Manchester: Arthur Rowling, Robert Lysaght, Joshua Irving  

Stagecoach Merseyside, Cheshire and South Lancashire: Vasco Costa, Momchil Stanislavou

Stagecoach South: Haydon Hebb, Nathan Beer  

Stagecoach South East: Jason Wanstall  

Stagecoach South Wales: Michael Evans  

Stagecoach South West: Kirstie Hardy  

Stagecoach West: Anthony Quinn, Marcus Warner, Robin Aris  

Stagecoach West Scotland: Stuart Fleming.