Stagecoach’s Buchan depot wins 2021 Christopher Ball eco-driving award

John Thompson, Green Road Champion, Buchan Depot

Stagecoach Bluebird’s Buchan depot has won the top UK depot award for outstanding performance over the last 12 months in Stagecoach’s annual Christopher Ball Memorial Awards scheme.

Meanwhile, Elaine Black from the operator’s Macduff depot has been award the Best Driver accolade for having the best Green Road score of any Stagecoach driver across the UK.

“Smoother, fuel-efficient driving is safer and provides more comfortable journeys for our customers,” says Stagecoach Bluebird Managing Director Peter Knight. “I’m delighted our team in Buchan has won this award for the first time, the recognition is a boost for the team who have gone above and beyond to keep our services running over the past year.”

The awards, which were introduced in 2015 and recognise the best performing eco-driving depot and individual within Stagecoach UK Bus, are named in honour of Christopher Ball, Stagecoach Ecodriver Project Manager, who passed away in 2014. Stagecoach says he was “instrumental” in introducing the GreenRoad eco-driving technology to Stagecoach, and that he was “a respected and well-liked employee”.

Adds Peter: “We are grateful to be able to pay tribute to Christopher and his involvement in the introduction of this eco-driving technology at our bus companies, through these important awards.”

The GreenRoad system, which is installed in all Stagecoach vehicles across the group’s bus companies, uses a traffic-light system on the dashboard to give drivers feedback on their manoeuvres. The result is to encourage smoother, safer, more fuel-efficient driving.

Says Richard Hemming, GreenRoad Vice President of Customer Success: “Year after year, Stagecoach tops its own previous record, demonstrating the power of its determination and focus.

“We are proud of the role that GreenRoad has played in helping Stagecoach create a culture of safety and environmental awareness, continuing with the inspiring legacy left by Christopher Ball. We hope this year’s winners take pride in their achievements, and look forward to helping Stagecoach reach for even higher future goals.”