BDoY 2019 winner: Lothian driver wins Blackpool Finals

picture of Adam Stitt accepting the BDoY 2019 winner trophy

The Bus Driver of the Year (BDoY) 2019 winner has been announced as Adam Stitt.

A Lothian Buses driver, he took overall victory at the 53rd National Finals of the BDoY finals in Blackpool on Sunday.

82 entrants from operators both large and small competed in Blackpool in a series of challenges for coveted prizes. Lothian Buses produced both overall BDoY 2019 winner Mr Stitt and fourth-placed finalist, Stephen Wibden.

Mr Stitt was highest placed finalist from an Association of Local Bus Company Managers (ALBUM) member company. He also scored the best theory test result. He was crowned UK Bus Driver of the Year. Mr Stitt took home the BDoY trophy and cash prizes sponsored by the Road Operator’s Safety Council and Unite the Union.

Andrew Braddock, retiring Vice Chairman of the BDoY governing body, presented Mr Stitt with the trophy. He also received the John Boxall Medallion as national champion and the Joe Mackie Shield for best competitor from a Scottish depot.

Runner-up was Adam Ksiazek from First Aberdeen. He won BDoY in 2017, and came in this year as highest-placed finalist from a FirstGroup company.

In third place was Amanda Hough of First Hampshire, Dorset and Berkshire. She also won the Giles Fearnley Shield for being the top driver from a depot in England.

Joe Mackie, Chairman of the UK BDoY Association, congratulated the trophy winners and thanked the volunteers who make the competition possible. He also thanked the industry sponsors for their support.