Six ‘metro mayors’ get sweeping powers

Transport, housing, skills and planning responsibilities – along with control over new long-term budgets from central government – will be key weapons in the armoury of so-called ‘Metro Mayors’, who will be voted in on 4 May.

Six regions are the first to have the system, similar to London: Cambridgeshire and Peterborough, Liverpool City Region, West of England, West Midlands, Greater Manchester and the Tees Valley. Collectively they will have powers to spend 4.85bn in a 30-year investment fund.

Says Communities Secretary Sajid Javid: “The powers will be held by a directly-elected mayor who, like the Mayor of London, will be able to represent the region on the international stage.”

Sheffield City Region is now likely to be in a second round of voting, expected in 2018.

Each Mayor has different powers, depending on the deal

Exactly what the metro mayors will be able to do is determined by the individual deals that each city-region has agreed with government.

Over time, the powers of the metro mayor may increase, as has happened in London.

The Devolution Bill is a deliberately non-prescriptive and enabling piece of legislation that allows for the devolution of almost anything – housing, health, welfare, policing and more – to a local level

The full list of the regions and areas covered is:

Cambridge and Peterborough:
Cambridge City Council, East Cambridgeshire District Council, Fenland District Council, Huntingdonshire District Council, Peterborough City Council and South Cambridgeshire District Council

Greater Manchester:
Bolton, Bury, Manchester, Oldham, Rochdale, Salford, Stockport, Tameside, Trafford and Wigan

Liverpool City Region:
Constituent: Liverpool, St Helens, Sefton, Knowsley, Wirral and Halton
Non-constituent: Warrington, West Lancashire

Tees Valley:
Constituent: Darlington, Hartlepool, Middlesbrough, Redcar and Cleveland and Stockton-On-Tees.

West Midlands:
Constituent: Birmingham, Wolverhampton, Coventry, Dudley, Sandwell, Solihull and Walsall
Non-constituent: Cannock Chase, Nuneaton and Bedworth, Redditch, Tamworth, Telford and Wrekin

West of England:
Bristol, Bath & North East Somerset, South Gloucestershire.

Sheffield City Region (proposed):
Constituent: Sheffield, Doncaster, Rotherham, Barnsley, Bassetlaw, Chesterfield
Non-constituent: Bolsover, North East Derbyshire, Derbyshire Dales

More details about Metro Mayors and their remits are here